|The picturesque town of Labin is located on a sea overlooking 320 m high hill. Its distance from the sea is only 3 km. The town was inhabited, according
to available artifacts, 2000 years BC. Its ancient name was Albona or Alvona, which in Celtic language means a town on a hill. After the Illyrians, the town was under Roman rule, followed by the rule of Byzantium, the Franks,the Venetians, Napoleon, the Hapsburgs, and Italy. Each of them has left a mark in its identity. The town still preserves the spirit of its noble past, while its beauty keeps attracting large number of tourists.It’s recent past is closely tied with coal mining. Due to the mining, black and green, a lantern, and a hammer, have become trademarks for easy recognition of its citizens and the surrounding area. Even today, with coal-mining discontinued
some time ago, these trademarks are still signs keeping the area distinguishable.Labin keeps glowing with magic glow and attractiveness.
Its uptown is an excellent example of a city acropolis,consisting of medieval walls, narrow streets and countless steep steps leading towards superior views. The ancient
part of town today hosts various artisans, their studios and galleries, scattered through the narrow streets of this old town.
Labin is an ideal starting point for daily tours throughout the fascinating and untouched coast of East Istra or central Istra and its medieval castles and fortresses, where time still stands still.Just below the hill, a new Labin has emerged(Podlabin).While the ancient town is still ticking slowly, its recent addition under the hill follows much faster rhythm of progress and development, urbanization and growing economy.You will have to pass “Torion“, a medieval tower, to
gain access to the old town. Just bellow the tower is a picturesque city square with loggia, offering shows and entertainment
in summer time. The cannon on top of the tower dates back to the times of Austria, but it was returned to its place for the second time in 1995. To access the oldest part
of town you will have to pass through “Porta Sanfior“, the city gate from 1587 (with Labin coat of arms and Venetian lion above the gate).
Battialla-Lazzarini palace today houses the city museum with archaeological, ethnological and mining galleries.Franković-Vlačić palace houses
the permanent exhibition dedicated to Mathias Flacius Illyricus, ( 1520-1575) a theologist, one of the most outspoken protestant reformists.
The church of Blessed Mary Virgin Nativity, considered a real jewel, was first erected in 11th century. Its front includes a Venetian lion with a ball in
its mouth, from 1604 and it served as a symbol of Venetian rule.The church of Saint Mary of Comfort, erected in 1426,houses extremely valuable series of 15 carvings and 9 oil
paintings from 17th century.